Peter Warlock: Songbook


Discover this new recording of songs by British composer, Peter Warlock, performed by Luci Briginshaw (soprano) & Eleanor Meynell (piano).


“Warlock’s songs are among the most exquisite, inventive and original to emerge in Britain in the early part of the twentieth century. Generally under-represented in today’s song repertoire, they are particularly so for the soprano voice. This very welcome collection of Warlock’s songs, many of them rarely performed or recorded, showcases the breadth of his extraordinarily diverse oeuvre. Soprano Luci Briginshaw and pianist Eleanor Meynell here offer insightful, sensitive and highly accomplished performances.”Michael Graves, Chairman, Peter Warlock Society

  • The Everlasting Voices - Peter Warlock
  • Saudades (Excerpts): No. 2, Take, O Take Those Lips Away - Peter Warlock
  • Saudades (Excerpts): No. 3, Heraclitus - Peter Warlock
  • The Water Lily - Peter Warlock
  • Lullaby - Peter Warlock
  • Take, O Take Those Lips Away (1918 Setting) - Peter Warlock
  • The bayly berith the bell away - Peter Warlock
  • My Little Sweet Darling - Peter Warlock
  • Dedication - Peter Warlock
  • The Cloths of Heaven - Peter Warlock
  • The Singer - Peter Warlock
  • Peterisms, Set I: No. 2, A Sad Song - Peter Warlock
  • Sleep - Peter Warlock
  • Autumn Twilight - Peter Warlock
  • Rest, Sweet Nymphs - Peter Warlock
  • Peterisms, Set II: No. 2, Spring - Peter Warlock
  • To the Memory of a Great Singer - Peter Warlock
  • Consider - Peter Warlock
  • I Held Love's Head - Peter Warlock
  • Pretty Ring Time - Peter Warlock
  • Robin Goodfellow - Peter Warlock
  • Ha'nacker Mill - Peter Warlock
  • The Night - Peter Warlock
  • The Lover's Maze - Peter Warlock
  • Cradle Song - Peter Warlock
  • 7 Songs of Summer (Excerpts): No. 2, The Contented Lover - Peter Warlock
  • And Wilt Thou Leave Me Thus? - Peter Warlock
  • 7 Songs of Summer (Excerpts): No. 3, Youth - Peter Warlock
Update Required To play the media you will need to either update your browser to a recent version or update your Flash plugin.

Press Reviews

Music Credits



Production Credits

Catalogue number: CR062
Engineering Michael Whight
Mixing & Mastering Adaq Khan
Recording Location St John the Evangelist, Upper Norwood
Producer Michael Whight
Producer George Richford
Cover Image Paul Briginshaw
Photography (Luci) Gerard Collett
Photography (Eleanor) Lucy Richards
Cover Design Mike Cooter
Creative Director Mike Cooter
Executive Producer Adrian Green