James Bowman: Thus Angels Sung


A collection of favourites chosen and performed by James Bowman and Malcolm Archer.

About this release

“There is absolutely no rhyme or reason behind the selection of pieces on this recording, and this is intentional. Every piece was chosen at random, simply because I happened to like them and wanted to record them.” James Bowman

  • The Song of Angels - Orlando Gibbons
  • Oculi Omnium - Christopher Moore
  • Hide not thou thy Face - Richard Farrant
  • Sion's Daughter - Malcolm Archer
  • The Holy Boy - John Ireland
  • My Sweet Darling - William Byrd
  • I Saw a Maiden - Edgar Petman
  • Lullaby - Cyril Scott
  • Sweet and Low - Malcolm Williamson
  • When Jesus Christ was yet a child - Malcolm Archer
  • Drop, Drop Slow Tears - Malcolm Archer
  • The Bellman's Song - Malcolm Archer
  • Evenfall - Humphrey Clucas
  • Dirge for Fidele - Ralph Vaughan Williams
  • The Trees They Grow So High - Benjamin Britten
  • The Rain it Raineth Every Day - Charles Villiers Stanford
  • How Should I Your True Love Know - Roger Quilter
  • Where Corals Lie - Edward Elgar
  • O Nata Lux - Thomas Tallis
  • Corpus Christi Carol - Benjamin Britten
  • The Call - Ralph Vaughan Williams
  • Turn Thy Face From My Sins - Thomas Attwood
  • Come, Holy Ghost - Thomas Attwood
Update Required To play the media you will need to either update your browser to a recent version or update your Flash plugin.

Press Reviews

Production Credits

Cover Image Lynne Jayne Jenkins
Photography Tom Kuglin
Engineering Adaq Khan
Mastering Adaq Khan
Producer Andrew King
Creative Director John Bevan
Executive Producer Adrian Green

Recorded 28, 29, 31 August, 2012, 28 August, 2013
Venue Portsmouth Anglican Cathedral, UK
Total Duration 56 mins
Catalogue number CR019