John Carbon: Short Stories for Piano


Contemporary American Piano Works by John Carbon, performed by Steven Graff.

About this release

Short Stories is a suite of 24 evocative piano pieces of widely varied moods. These “tales” for piano take the player and listener through imaginative harmonic and contrapuntal explorations, each reflecting its characterful title and projecting a vivid mental image. Icarus, a virtuoso single-movement work, evokes the Greek myth in a dazzling — yet ultimately tragic — flight across the piano keyboard.

  • Heather Bells - John Carbon
  • Pirate's Hornpipe - John Carbon
  • Mouse Clock - John Carbon
  • Hunt in the Hollow - John Carbon
  • Guadeloupe Calypso - John Carbon
  • Thorny Reminiscence - John Carbon
  • Paean - John Carbon
  • Quantum Hobgoblin - John Carbon
  • Arctic Love Story - John Carbon
  • The Woodpecker's Joke - John Carbon
  • Fallen Heroes - John Carbon
  • Joplin's Tic - John Carbon
  • Rhapsodic Overture - John Carbon
  • Convocation - John Carbon
  • George Sand's Dream - John Carbon
  • Czerny's Id - John Carbon
  • The Serpentine - John Carbon
  • Chocolate Velvet - John Carbon
  • Spider's Reflection - John Carbon
  • Tea with Claude and Maurice - John Carbon
  • Monks in the Catacombs - John Carbon
  • Simon Says - John Carbon
  • Momentum - John Carbon
  • Dawn - John Carbon
  • Icarus - John Carbon
Update Required To play the media you will need to either update your browser to a recent version or update your Flash plugin.

Press Reviews

No reviews have been published yet.

Music Credits


Page Turner Jacob Steingart


Production Credits

Catalogue number CR085
Piano Steinway CD 327
Engineering Jeffrey Grossman
Editing & Mastering Overtone Audio
Recorded January 2023
Recording Location Futura Productions, Roslindale, Massachusetts, USA
Programme Notes John Carbon
Creative Director Mike Cooter
Executive Producer Carson Cooman