SANSARA: Cloths of Heaven


Cloths Of Heaven performed by award winning vocal ensemble SANSARA.

About this release

“For this project, the aim was to capture our approach to live performance and to record a narrative programme that takes the listener on an emotional and spiritual journey. Following the broad trajectory of a requiem, beginning with Cardoso’s Introitus (from his own six-part Requiem) and ending with James MacMillan’s Lux aeterna, this recording seeks to confront the darker aspects of human experience whilst also looking towards the future with optimism. As in our concert programmes, pieces from the masters of the Renaissance are presented alongside new compositions, five of which are recorded here for the first time.” – Tom Herring, co-founder & conductor, SANSARA

  • Introitus - Manuel Cardoso
  • Emendemus in melius - William Byrd
  • Lugebat David Absalon - Nicolas Gombert
  • Memento homo - William Byrd
  • Wie sich ein Vat'r erbarmet - Johann Sebastian Bach
  • Wie liegt die Stadt so wüst - Rudolf Mauersberger
  • Abendlied - Josef Rheinberger
  • Leit uns mit deiner rechten Hand - Johann Sebastian Bach
  • Nunc dimittis - Gustav Holst
  • O come, let us sing unto the Lord - Cheryl Frances-Hoad
  • Our flags are wafting in hope and grief - Gabriel Jackson
  • Tantum ergo - Marco Galvani
  • Cloths of Heaven - Malcolm Archer
  • A prayer of St Richard of Chichester - Oliver Tarney
  • Lux aeterna - James MacMillan
Update Required To play the media you will need to either update your browser to a recent version or update your Flash plugin.

Press Reviews

Production Credits

Catalogue number CR037
Photography Various
Engineering Adaq Khan
Mastering Adaq Khan
Producer Andrew King
Creative Director John Bevan
Executive Producer Adrian Green
Recorded 23, 24 June, 2016
Venue Merton College, Oxford