From the Celestial Hills


Discover this album of sacred Scottish choral music, much of it little known, from the repertoire of the University of Glasgow Chapel Choir.

About this release

Distinctively Scottish, this collection of vibrant and rich choral music features sacred music from the repertoire of the University of Glasgow Chapel Choir.

  • Abbeville - Elisha James King, alto added by Wilson Marion Cooper, arr. Katy Lavinia Cooper
  • Ecce Novum Gaudium - arr. Kenneth Elliott
  • Balulalow - Ronald Law
  • Aurora Rutilat - Plainchant hymn, arr. Sheena Phillips
  • Peace Motets, No. IV. The Seventh Beatitude (Blessed Are the Peacemakers) - Ronald Stevenson
  • Ex Te Lux Oritur, O Dulcis Scotia - Anon arr. Kevin Bowyer and Katy Lavinia Cooper
  • What, Heard Ye Not? - Frederick Rimmer
  • Bow Thine Ear O Lord - Janet Beat
  • Like a Lost God - Katy Lavinia Cooper
  • The Sang of the Thrie Childrein (Benedicite) - John Angus
  • For a Thousand Years - James MacMillan
  • Lord, In Thy Wrath (Psalm 6) - Traditional
  • Et Resurrexit - Martin Dalby
  • O Sacrum Convivium - Rory Boyle
  • Be Glad Then, Ye Children of Zion - Alfred Hollins
  • Hymn to St Perpetua - Drew Hammond
  • Ave Regina - Kenneth Tay
Update Required To play the media you will need to either update your browser to a recent version or update your Flash plugin.

Press Reviews

Music Credits



Production Credits

Sound Engineer James Unwin
Producer James Unwin
Design Mike Cooter
Executive Producer Adrian Green
Recording Dates 24 – 26 March 2023
Recording Location University of Glasgow Memorial Chapel
Catalogue number CR088