Angus Benton: Homeward Bound


NSPCC Appeal album by Angus Benton covering a journey across the emotions and encounters of childhood. With piano by Malcolm Archer.

About this release

“The journey of the treble voice is one of the most glories of nature, and also one of the hardest to record. Our idea behind this appeal album was to capture Angus Benton’s young chorister voice at its very best. The music we’ve recorded for this NSPCC Appeal album goes through a journey across the emotions and encounters we all hope our children grow up to remember fondly. This recording hopefully reminds us that nostalgia literally means ‘the pain from old wounds.’ We’ve aimed to capture that rare raw childhood emotion in young chorister song that brings a twinge in your heart far more powerful than memories alone.”Malcolm Archer

  • Sweet Chance that led my steps - Michael Head
  • Where'er you walk - George Frideric Handel
  • The Lark in the Clear Air - Phyllis Tate
  • The Skye Boat Song - arr. Malcolm Archer
  • Silent Worship - arr. Arthur Somervell
  • The Ships of Arcady - Michael Head
  • The Song of Wandering Aengus - Malcolm Archer
  • Linden Lea - Ralph Vaughan Williams
  • Sleep my baby - arr. Malcolm Archer
  • The Coasts of High Barbary - arr. Malcolm Archer
  • The Ash Grove - arr. Benjamin Britten
  • Molly Malone - arr. Malcolm Archer
  • The Sally Gardens - arr. Benjamin Britten
  • Amazing Grace - arr. Malcolm Archer
  • The Little Road to Bethlehem - Michael Head
  • Auld Lang Syne - arr. Malcolm Archer
  • Homeward Bound - arr. Jay Althouse
Update Required To play the media you will need to either update your browser to a recent version or update your Flash plugin.

Press Reviews

Production Credits

Catalogue number CR035
Photography Hester Marriot
Engineering Adaq Khan
Mastering Adaq Khan
Producer Adrian Green
Creative Director Will Lavender
Executive Producer Adrian Green
Recorded 1, 2, 3 September 2016
Venue Winchester College Music School

Go to Top