Hugh Benham: Sacred Choral Music


A new recording of Hugh Benham’s Sacred Choral Music, featuring Convivium Singers accompanied by Malcolm Archer and directed by Alexander Norman.

SKU: cr050-complete Categories: , , Tags: , , ,


About this release

Explore this new album of sacred choral works for amateur and professional choirs by British composer, Hugh Benham, performed by the award-winning Convivium Singers with organist Malcolm Archer, directed by Alexander Norman.

CD Booklet
  • Glorious things of thee are spoken - Hugh Benham
  • Love's redeeming work - Hugh Benham
  • Ubi caritas (Where there's love) - Hugh Benham
  • Ave Maria - Hugh Benham
  • Love came down at Christmas - Hugh Benham
  • Divinum mysterium (There is no rose) - Hugh Benham
  • Chant donné - Hugh Benham
  • Basse donnée - Hugh Benham
  • Mass Veni Creator Spiritus; Kyrie - Hugh Benham
  • Mass Veni Creator Spiritus; Gloria - Hugh Benham
  • Mass Veni Creator Spiritus; Sanctus - Hugh Benham
  • Mass Veni Creator Spiritus; Agnus Dei - Hugh Benham
  • Trinity Voluntary - Hugh Benham
  • Praise to God - Hugh Benham
  • O sacrum convivium II - Hugh Benham
  • Evening Service in G for Unison Upper Voices; Magnificat - Hugh Benham
  • Evening Service in G for Unison Upper Voices; Nunc Dimittis - Hugh Benham
  • A Prayer of St John Chrysostom - Hugh Benham
  • God be in my head - Hugh Benham
  • Every day we meet with Christ - Hugh Benham
  • When Christ was born - Hugh Benham
  • Teach me, my God and King - Hugh Benham
Update Required To play the media you will need to either update your browser to a recent version or update your Flash plugin.

Programme Notes

Some of the choral music on this disc is suitable for small four-part choirs in parish churches, accompanied by organ.  Other pieces were composed with larger spaces in mind. For example the Mass, Evening Service, O sacrum convivium II and Love’s redeeming work,

Everything is primarily for listening, including what might be termed ‘devotional listening’. The texts draw from a variety of Christian traditions.

Tracks 2, 5 and 6 are among those published by H.T. FitzSimons. Track 21 ‘When Christ was Born’ is available from World Library Publications. Scores of works so far unpublished may be obtained from Convivium Records.

Production Credits

Catalogue number CR050
Engineering & Editing Adaq Khan
Mastering Adaq Khan
Recording Location St. Alban the Martyr, Highgate, Birmingham
Producer George Richford
Programme Notes Dr Hugh Benham
Artist Photography
Mike Cooter
Cover Image Malina Green. Used by permission
Creative Director Mike Cooter
Executive Producer Adrian Green

Press Reviews

You may also like…


Go to Top